top of page

In the end

(Poem)

I walk into a place so dear and familiar;

The ghost of another time follows.

I close my eyes to bring back memories.

I wake to a beast well known, and my heart hollows.


He greets me with a smile.

I begin to gasp for breath.

He invites me to a shameless ritual.

I begin to run from my death.


I feel him chasing me like a predator.

I turn to see how much time I have left.

I see his smile has perished.

A grim rage chases me now; hope bereft.


I run through crowds,

Tension and dread visible.

They don’t seem to help.

They go about like the beast is invisible.


As I run, I think to myself,

Why am I being chased by my past?

As I run, I cannot seem to believe

That his grip on me still lasts.


But I am not alone this time.

I won’t let him rule me again.

So I run to the only angel who was with me now

And was with me before all this began.


I can hear his breathing getting closer and closer.

And I see the angel far in front of my eyes.

I won't let go now,

As in my heart, hope begins to rise.


All out of breath, I reach her.

She catches sight of my stalker.

As my angel fights the demon,

I stand like a mere watcher.


Each time my angel scars him,

He looks at me with madness.

I have let that frighten me for too long,

So I scoop his eyes out of vengeance.


His look scares me no more.

His fury shakes me no more.

My angel slays him;

His presence worries me no more.


The angel in a friend isn’t visible

Until you see a beast in the lover.

In the end, he leaves you hopeless,

And she gives you power.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page